IT Tracking

  

>> Find what you're looking for...

 

Database Tracking
 

User Groups

If you have a large number of users then it may not be convenient to set the access rights for all the users individually. In this case you can create groups of users, cunningly called User Groups.

To create a User Group use the Operator Browse screen, and User Group Details button.

To put users into groups use the Operator's Form. A List of User Groups is provided in the drop down list box that is provided. Note that this list box will only be available if the User is set to be an Operator.

Setting the rights for a Group is exactly the same as setting for an individual. Simply use the Set Access screen while the program is running.

Note: an Operator can only be part of one group.

Tip: When you create a new user or user group, you can set it to have an existing user or user group's access rights (when it's created). You can diverge the two groups (i.e. if you wanted more options for the one than the other).

Tip: If a user is always forgetting their password, and you get tired of resetting their access rights every time you have to delete, and re-add them, then make a user group for that person. The access rights will be stored with the Group, not the User, so it's easier to delete, and re-add the user.


Work Groups

Work Groups are completely different to User Groups, they are more powerful, but require more effort from the programmer.

They are essentially a number (a long) which you can store with each user. This number is set for your application - in another application the user may have a different Workgroup number.

This number can be used to limit browse records which are available, or it may be used to perform some specific access control feature of your own.

The Work Group number, for each user, is set on the normal Operator Form.

Back to Help